Categorized | Security

hiring-westunion.com scam email

This scam email is recruiting people for money laundering and other criminal activities using the fraudulent domain hiring-westunion.com:

From: Molly Leary
Date: 11 July 2010 01:23
subject: Open Positions

Greetings

I’m addressing you on behalf of the HR department of a large company. Our company covers a wide range of businesses:
- real estate
– accounts opening
– undertaking services
– etc.

We need a person to fill the vacancy of a regional manager in Europe:
- salary 2.400 euro + bonus
- 2–3 working hours per day
- flexible work time

If you are ready to work as a regional manager in Europe send us the below information on email:
c v @ h i r i n g – w e s t u n i o n . c o m [please delete spaces before sending]
Full name:
Country:
E-mail:
Mobile phone-number:

Note! We are searching Europeans only!

Please, write your name and Telephone Number so that our manager could contact you and conduct an interview. 

This domain attempts to pass itself off as the legitimate Western Union company, it was registered a few days ago to what appears to be a real address but is almost definitely fake too:

Domain name: hiring-westunion.com

Registrant Contact:
   PBsoft, inc
   Harry Bishop Harry.PBishop@yahoo.com
   818372-9865 fax: 818372-9865
   2850 Luna Pl
   Granada Hills CA 91344-1644
   us

Administrative Contact:
   Harry Bishop Harry.PBishop@yahoo.com
   818372-9865 fax: 818372-9865
   2850 Luna Pl
   Granada Hills CA 91344-1644
   us

Technical Contact:
   Harry Bishop Harry.PBishop@yahoo.com
   818372-9865 fax: 818372-9865
   2850 Luna Pl
   Granada Hills CA 91344-1644
   us

Billing Contact:
   Harry Bishop Harry.PBishop@yahoo.com
   818372-9865 fax: 818372-9865
   2850 Luna Pl
   Granada Hills CA 91344-1644
   us

DNS:
ns1.pegas-dns.org
ns2.pegas-dns.org

Created: 2010-06-22
Expires: 2011-06-22

The registrar is the scammer’s favourite, BIZCN.com of China. The web server and mail is hosted on 178.162.135.108 on PegasHosting Network in the Ukraine. Email originated from 201.246.77.170, an ADSL subscriber in Chile.

This is not a real job, anything that they offer is likely to be some sort of criminal activity such as money laundering, parcel reshipping and other fraudulent back office functions.

View full post on Dynamoo’s Blog

Related Posts
  • Scam email lead to Keylogger. Beware!
    Among a lot of various scam emails about “post express“, we found one email that is unfamiliar, and pretty sure this is a different malware, with subject “Available for pickup“...
  • Zynga Poker: Facebook Poker Account Confirmation. Beware!
    If you receive a message like following: Hello : [name] Thanks for playing on Zynga applications. We have reviewed the suspension on your account. After reviewing your account activity, it wa...
  • Nigerian scam email claims to be from the FBI
    Scam clue #1: FBI personnel can probably write proper English Alert reader Brian in GFI Business Customer Support forwarded this gem: From: Sean Dean. [mailto:Sean.Dean@Fbi.gov.us] Sent: Thursday, F...
  • Spam or scam messages. Beware! [02-09-2011]
    The following is spam or scam message that sent via email or a site/blog comment. If you receive this, just ignore it, and please don't execute the attachment if any. 1. Do you need a loan or fun...
  • “Worst trip ever” email scam
    This wandered into a spamtrap last night, and you should consider firing it into the heart of the Sun: "Am sorry for not informing you about my propose trip to UK and presently I'm writing this with...
  • Email Scam Resource
    Yesterday I came across a nice governmental resource at On Guard Online, listing some common email scams. Security gurus might not learn a lot from it, but as @SecurityGarden has pointed out, it's...
  • “Blackberry Storm Promotion” scam email
    A few vital bits missing from this scam email (such as the source), and its purpose is not known.. but certainly it is not genuine.  There's also a telephone number attached which is in South Afr...
  • e-mail scam announcing Fidel Castro’s funeral … and nasty malware to your computer., (Sun, May 23rd)
    There are two public broadcast TV stations at Colombia. We received a report that a e-mail is out there claiming to be from one of the stations and announcing they have the video of Fidel Castro's fun...
  • Email lottery scam (lotteryusa scam)
    A large flow of spam emails pushing various Trojans has been going on last night. Here is one example: “Congratulations! You have won 9670 USD in our annual e-mail lottery. You became one of 10...
  • Facebook scammers go back to using Javascript
    Facebook scammers know that in order to keep users falling for their scams, they have to use a variety of approaches. For example, there was a time where rogue applications were the scammers' preferre...

2 Responses to “hiring-westunion.com scam email”

  1. nemo says:

    Und Der Admin hat doch recht!

  2. Gonzalo says:

    In spanish too. Sorry i didn’t know how to post it correctly.

    Buenos días!

    Solo un minuto necesita Ud. para leer este correo, y descubre una buena oportunidad de cobrar dinero extra. Ademas, Ud no tendra que dejar su principal puesto de trabajo.

    Nuestra empresa ha extendido su actividad en Chile, Argentina, Columbia y Portugal y estamos buscando a los ciudadanos de estos paises que pueden dedicar unas horas al dia para trabajar con nosotros, realizando los traspasos bancarios para nuestros clientes.

    Si le interesa saber más sobre la posibilidad de cobrar gancias merecidas por su trabajo le pedimos enviar sus dados de contacto al siguiente correo:

    i n f o @ h i r i n g – w e s t . c o m [Por favor, borra los espacios antes de enviar el correo]

    1. Nombre, apellido;
    2. Edad;
    3. País de residencia;
    4. Teléfonos de contacto. (el numero de telefono en el formato enternacional)

    Al recibir su correo electrónico con sus dados nuestros funcionarios inmediatamente se ponen en contacto con Ud. para darle toda la información interesada y todas las detalles sobre trabajo.

    Esperamos a la cooperación productiva.
    En el caso si no le interesa la información antedicha le pedimos perdón y le reclamamos ignorarla.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks


Security Status

Beware Facebook "Timeline" scams http://t.co/W5EW0cVv
5 months ago
Nigerian government (unknowingly) hosts phishing website http://t.co/uQd42ENw
5 months ago
PCMag Awards McAfee All Access its Editors’ Choice: SANTA CLARA, Calif.--(BUSINESS WIRE)--McAfee today announced... http://t.co/FakV7Vd8
5 months ago
RT @mikko: I hadn't noticed Google Maps has added 3D models of buildings. Here's a (very accurate) view of F-Secure HQ in Helsinki http://t.co/IKfAZlak
5 months ago
North Koreans aren't known for their online presence. But others may be lured into clicking Kim Jong-Il 'videos' too http://t.co/yQOon6YT
5 months ago
How to Protect Your Professional Reputation on Facebook Timeline http://t.co/I4bcR2VN
5 months ago
This is pretty impressive from @Softpedia: Facebook scans 2 trillion link clicks and blocks 220 million posts each day http://t.co/vKsn9gNl
5 months ago
Need for integrated approach to security in industrial control systems - http://t.co/tPBCNOow with @PikeResearch
5 months ago
Some free-based music we play at work http://t.co/xu5agZfc
5 months ago
Japan’s cyber defense weapon: a virus. It includes quotes by @Luis_Corrons via @InfosecurityMag
5 months ago