This little gem of a spam run was widely broadcast last night and caused some alarm. Take a look, I’m sure you’ll see why.
Sale!
1. Heroin, in liquid and crystal form.
2. Rocket fuel and Tomohawk rockets (serious enquiries only).
4. New shipment of cocaine has arrived, buy 9 grams and get 10th for free.
Everyone is welcome, but not US citizens.
ATTENTION. Clearance offer. Buy 30 grams of heroin, get 5 free.
Prices upon reqeust:
Our email: <redacted>@<redacted>.COM
PHONE 0093 (0) 20 <redacted>
FAX 0093 (0) 70 <redacted>
Afghanistan
This is actually a really old prank, originally targeted at the Dark Profits website in 2003. This is simply a prank twist of a traditional email Joe Job., designed to flood a mailbox/phone/fax with responses.
We saw a couple of different flavors of this campaign targeting different entities however all were appropriately caught.
Snopes have a great article in their archive if you’d like a refresher.
Don’t panic. Nothing to see here!
Related Posts
- Don’t Confuse ‘Anonymous’ With a Russian Gang
The recent WikiLeaks disclosure of more than 250,000 U.S. State Department diplomatic cables got people worked up. Running opposite much public opinion, the main WikiLeaks defender in the hacktivism f... - Some people just don’t learn
For those who haven’t read or just don’t remember, read this first. (more…)
View full post on MW-Blog... - Tepuro Advertising leads us to some more bad names – please treat all domains with extreme caution
Thanks to industrypace.com for the info (the only thing I would point out is that just because they use a Chinese registrar, doesn’t make the bad guys themselves Chinese…). There is link to a yo... - ALERT: Please treat content from facilitatedigital.net and trueffects.net with extreme caution
Malvertizing featuring “Gilt Man” has been seen coming from facilitatedigital.net – note that facilitatedigital.net was mentioned in my earlier blog post. facilitatedigital.net ... - ALERT: Please treat content from facilitatedigital.net and trueffects.net with extreme caution
Malvertizing featuring “Gilt Man” has been seen coming from facilitatedigital.net – note that facilitatedigital.net was mentioned in my earlier blog post. facilitatedigital.net ... - ALERT: Please treat “Wibe Networks” with extreme caution
Wibe Networks have been caught supplying "7 Days Media", "Golden Bird Network" and "Zamma Media" as credit references – all of those domains have been featured on this bl... - When You Think You Surf Anonymously But You Don’t
Many companies, military- and governmental-networks have banned social networking sites like Facebook, Twitter, MySpace &Co from their networks. For instance in August 2009 the U.S. Marine corps ... - Lots of new malvertizing badness. Please treat all domains with extreme caution
The IP range 65.254.60.* is a cesspool of badness at the moment, as evidenced by bad domains appearing in that IP range in recent times. Here are some more for you. If anybody using those ... - ALERT: Please treat 1-starmedia.com with extreme caution
1-starmedia.com ICANN Registrar: BIZCN.COM, INC Created 14 September 2010 Registrant: 1 Starmedia, Julius Becker, contactus@1-starmedia.com IP: 178.63.3.138 - Hetzener Online Shares IP wi... - please help regarding bot worms..
Hello Everybody,
I have recently setup a honeynet lab and i'm looking for help for sources whre i can get some worms so that i can inject them on my honeypots.....My research is on irc bots so plz ...
Posted on 22 March 2011. Tags: Cocaine, don’t, Heroin, panic…, please, Rockets
The above information is reprinted from and copyrighted © by McAfee.